Academic Calendars

Download printable 2020-21 academic calendar (PDF)

SEMESTER 1 // YEAR 1

New Student Orientation  August 26, 27, 28, 2020 (combination of remote and in-person)
Instruction Begins Wed. Sept. 2, 2020
Labor Day (Holiday) Mon. Sept. 7, 2020
Mid Semester Break Wed. Oct. 14-Sun. Oct. 18, 2020 cancelled
Last Day of In-person Instruction Wed. Nov. 25, 2020
Thanksgiving Recess Nov. 26–Nov. 29, 2020
Last Class Day of Remote Instruction Thurs. Dec. 10, 2020
Study Day Fri. Dec. 11, 2020
Exam Period  Dec. 12-18, 2020 (no exams on Dec. 13 Commencement)

SEMESTER 1 // YEARS 2 & 3

SELECTIVES WEEK Aug. 24-Aug. 28, 2020 cancelled
Instruction Begins Wed. Sept 2, 2020
 Labor Day (Holiday)  Mon. Sept. 7, 2020
Last Day of In-person Instruction Wed. Nov. 25, 2020
Thanksgiving Recess Nov. 26–Nov. 29, 2020
Last Class Day of Remote Instruction Thurs. Dec. 10, 2020
Study Day Fri. Dec. 11, 2020
Exam Period Dec. 12-18, 2020 (no exams on Dec. 13 Commencement)
WINTER RECESS Dec. 19-Jan. 10, 2021

SEMESTER 2 // YEARS 1 & 2

Instruction Begins Mon. Jan. 11, 2021
Martin Luther King (Holiday)  Mon. Jan. 18, 2021
SVM Spring Recess  March 13-21, 2021 cancelled
SVM No Classes Fri. March 12, 2021 (SAVMA Symposium March 12-14, 2021)
UW Spring Recess  March 27–April 4, 2021 cancelled
Last Class Day Fri. April 23, 2021
Study Day Sat. April 24, 2021
Exam Period April 25-May 1, 2021
SELECTIVES WEEK May 3-7, 2021

SEMESTER 2 // YEAR 3

Instruction Begins Mon. Jan. 11, 2021
Martin Luther King (Holiday)  Mon. Jan. 18, 2021
SVM Spring Recess  March 13-21, 2021 cancelled
SVM No Classes Fri. March 12, 2021 (SAVMA Symposium March 12-14, 2021)
UW Spring Recess  March 27–April 4, 2021 cancelled
Last Class Day Fri. April 23, 2021
Study Day Sat. April 24, 2021
Exam Period April 25-May 1, 2021
Clinics Start Mon. May 10, 2021

COMMENCEMENT WEEKEND // May 7-9, 2021

Official graduation date May 9, 2021

RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCES POLICY In accordance with regent and faculty policy, faculty are asked not to schedule mandatory exercises on days when religious observances may cause substantial numbers of students to be absent from the university. Some religions mark observances over multiple days, which may begin at sunset on the day preceding the holiday. A listing, though not exhaustive, of religious holidays is available on-line at www.interfaithcalendar.org. Any student with a conflict between an academic requirement and any religious observance must be given an alternative means of meeting the academic requirement. A student’s claim of a religious conflict, which may include travel time, should be accepted at face value.

Download printable 2021-22 academic calendar (PDF)

SEMESTER 1 // YEAR 1

New Student Orientation Wed. Sept. 1 – Fri. Sept. 3, 2021
Labor Day (Holiday)  Mon. Sept. 6, 2021
Instruction begins Tue. Sept. 7, 2021
Thanksgiving Recess  Nov. 25–28, 2021
Last Class Day Wed. Dec. 15, 2021
Study Day Thu. Dec. 16, 2021
Exam Period Fri. Dec. 17 – Thu Dec. 23, 2021 (no exams on Dec 19th Commencement)

SEMESTER 1 // YEARS 2 & 3

SELECTIVES WEEK Mon. Aug. 30 – Fri. Sept. 3, 2021
Labor Day (Holiday)  Mon. Sept. 6, 2021
Instruction begins Tue. Sept. 7, 2021
Thanksgiving Recess  Nov. 25–28, 2021
Last Class Day Wed. Dec. 15, 2021
Study Day Thu. Dec. 16, 2021
Exam Period Fri. Dec. 17 – Thu. Dec. 23, 2021 (no exams on Dec 19th Commencement)
WINTER RECESS Fri. Dec. 24, 2021 – Sun. Jan. 9, 2022

SEMESTER 2 // YEARS 1 & 2

Instruction begins Mon. Jan. 10, 2022
Martin Luther King (Holiday)  Mon. Jan. 17, 2022
SVM Spring Recess  March 5-13, 2022 (SAVMA Symposium @ UMN March 4-7, 2022)
UW Spring Recess March 12–20, 2022
Last Class Day Fri. April 29, 2022
Study Day Sat. April 30, 2022
Exam Period Sun Sun. May 1 – Sat. May 7, 2022
SELECTIVES WEEK Mon. May 9 – Fri. May 13, 2022

SEMESTER 2 // YEAR 3

Instruction begins Mon. Jan. 10, 2022
Martin Luther King (Holiday)  Mon. Jan 17, 2022
SVM Spring Recess  March 5-13, 2022 (SAVMA Symposium @ UMN March 4-7, 2022)
UW Spring Recess March 12–20, 2022
Last Class Day Fri. April 29, 2022
Study Day Sat. April 30, 2022
Exam Period Sun. May 1 – Sat 7, 2022
Clinics Start Mon. May 16, 2022

COMMENCEMENT WEEKEND // May 13-15, 2022

Official graduation date May 15, 2022

RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCES POLICY In accordance with regent and faculty policy, faculty are asked not to schedule mandatory exercises on days when religious observances may cause substantial numbers of students to be absent from the university. Some religions mark observances over multiple days, which may begin at sunset on the day preceding the holiday. A listing, though not exhaustive, of religious holidays is available on-line at www.interfaithcalendar.org. Any student with a conflict between an academic requirement and any religious observance must be given an alternative means of meeting the academic requirement. A student’s claim of a religious conflict, which may include travel time, should be accepted at face value.