Academic Calendars

Download printable 2021-22 academic calendar (PDF)

SEMESTER 1 // YEAR 1

New Student Orientation Wed. Sept. 1 – Fri. Sept. 3, 2021
Labor Day (Holiday)  Mon. Sept. 6, 2021
Instruction begins Tue. Sept. 7, 2021
Thanksgiving Recess  Nov. 25–28, 2021
Last Class Day Wed. Dec. 15, 2021
Study Day Thu. Dec. 16, 2021
Exam Period Fri. Dec. 17 – Thu Dec. 23, 2021 (no exams on Dec 19th Commencement)

SEMESTER 1 // YEARS 2 & 3

SELECTIVES WEEK Mon. Aug. 30 – Fri. Sept. 3, 2021
Labor Day (Holiday)  Mon. Sept. 6, 2021
Instruction begins Tue. Sept. 7, 2021
Thanksgiving Recess  Nov. 25–28, 2021
Last Class Day Wed. Dec. 15, 2021
Study Day Thu. Dec. 16, 2021
Exam Period Fri. Dec. 17 – Thu. Dec. 23, 2021 (no exams on Dec 19th Commencement)
WINTER RECESS Fri. Dec. 24, 2021 – Sun. Jan. 9, 2022

SEMESTER 2 // YEARS 1 & 2

Instruction begins Mon. Jan. 10, 2022
Martin Luther King (Holiday)  Mon. Jan. 17, 2022
SVM Spring Recess  March 5-13, 2022 (SAVMA Symposium @ UMN March 11-13, 2022)
UW Spring Recess March 12–20, 2022
Last Class Day Fri. April 29, 2022
Study Day Sat. April 30, 2022
Exam Period Sun Sun. May 1 – Sat. May 7, 2022
SELECTIVES WEEK Mon. May 9 – Fri. May 13, 2022

SEMESTER 2 // YEAR 3

Instruction begins Mon. Jan. 10, 2022
Martin Luther King (Holiday)  Mon. Jan 17, 2022
SVM Spring Recess  March 5-13, 2022 (SAVMA Symposium @ UMN March 11-13, 2022)
UW Spring Recess March 12–20, 2022
Last Class Day Fri. April 29, 2022
Study Day Sat. April 30, 2022
Exam Period Sun. May 1 – Sat 7, 2022
Clinics Start Mon. May 16, 2022

COMMENCEMENT WEEKEND // May 13-15, 2022

Official graduation date May 15, 2022

RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCES POLICY In accordance with regent and faculty policy, faculty are asked not to schedule mandatory exercises on days when religious observances may cause substantial numbers of students to be absent from the university. Some religions mark observances over multiple days, which may begin at sunset on the day preceding the holiday. A listing, though not exhaustive, of religious holidays is available on-line at www.interfaithcalendar.org. Any student with a conflict between an academic requirement and any religious observance must be given an alternative means of meeting the academic requirement. A student’s claim of a religious conflict, which may include travel time, should be accepted at face value.

Download printable 2022-23 academic calendar (PDF)

SEMESTER 1

Year 1 New Student Orientation Wed. Aug. 31 – Fri. Sept. 2, 2022
Years 2 & 3 Selectives Week Mon. Aug. 29 – Fri. Sept. 2, 2022
Labor Day (Holiday)  Mon. Sept. 5, 2022
Instruction begins Wed. Sept. 7, 2022
Thanksgiving Recess  Nov. 24–27, 2022
Last Class Day Wed. Dec. 14, 2022
Study Day Thu. Dec. 15, 2022
Exam Period Fri. Dec. 16 – Thu. Dec. 22, 2022 (no exams on Dec. 18 Commencement)

SEMESTER 2

Martin Luther King (Holiday)  Mon. Jan. 16, 2023
Instruction begins
Tues. Jan. 17, 2023
SVM Spring Recess  March 11 – 19, 2023 (SAVMA Symposium @ University of Illinois – March 16-19, 2023)
UW Spring Recess March 11–19, 2023
Last Class Day Fri. April 28, 2023
Study Day Sat. April 29, 2023
Exam Period Sun Sun. April 30 – Sat. May 6, 2023
Years 1 & 2 Selectives Week Mon. May 8 – Fri. May 12, 2023
Year 3 Clinics Start Mon. May 15, 2023

COMMENCEMENT WEEKEND // May 12-14, 2023

Official graduation date May 14, 2023

RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCES POLICY
In accordance with regent and faculty policy, faculty are asked not to schedule mandatory exercises on days when religious observances may cause substantial numbers of students to be absent from the university. Some religions mark observances over multiple days, which may begin at sunset on the day preceding the holiday. A listing, though not exhaustive, of religious holidays is available on-line at www.interfaithcalendar.org. Any student with a conflict between an academic requirement and any religious observance must be given an alternative means of meeting the academic requirement. A student’s claim of a religious conflict, which may include travel time, should be accepted at face value.