2024 SVM Celebration of Excellence Awards

WVMA Treasurer Danielle Mayr, DVM ’20 (right), presents the Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association William J. O’Rourke Memorial Award to Summer Henschel, DVMx’24 (left).

On Saturday, April 20, students, faculty, staff, and friends gathered in Varsity Hall at Union South to celebrate the end of the academic year and to recognize the efforts of the exceptional people who work and learn at the UW School of Veterinary Medicine.The annual “Celebration of Excellence” event is made possible through the generosity of numerous donors. Here are this year’s award recipients:

Faculty and Staff Awards

  • Professor Peter MacWilliams Pathology Resident Award – Dr. Betsy Murdock
  • Zoe and Lexi Wells Small Animal Nursing Staff Awards – Kim Hoth (Cardiology), Kristen Lynch (CCU), and Amanda Judd (Orthopedic Surgery)
  • Zoe and Lexi Wells Large Animal Technician Award – Carissa Herbrand
  • Zoe and Lexi Wells Technologist of the Year Awards – Corinne Dunwiddie (Radiology) and Elena Kostecke-Sengstock (Necropsy)
  • Resident of the Year Awards – Dr. Clara Cole (Anatomic Pathology), Dr. Lisabeth Leuck (Neurology/Neurosurgery), and Dr. Emma Stapley (Large Animal Internal Medicine)
  • Razzy Peterka Large Animal Nursing Staff Award – Amanda Anderson
  • Elliott Peterka Small Animal Nursing Staff Award – Allie Boland
  • School of Veterinary Medicine Instructor of the Year Award – Dr. Jessica Rippe
  • Boehringer Ingelheim Summer Scholars Mentor of the Year Award – Dr. Erin Lashnits
  • John Sowers Memorial Dental Resident Awards – Dr. Tsung-Han Tu and Dr. Viviam Pignone
  • Walter F. Renk Distinguished Professor Award – Dr. Kristen Bernard
  • House Officer Exceptional Care Award – Dr. Will Pochal
  • Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence – Dr. Peter Muir
  • Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award – Dr. Calico Schmidt

Specialty Awards

  • Ronald D. Schultz Excellence in Immunology Award – Abbey Williams
  • Richard F. Marsh Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award – Leah Owens
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Certificate of Clinical Excellence Awards – Hope Pavsek (Large Animal), April Hommerding (Small Animal), and Caitlin Obernberger (Small Animal)
  • North American Veterinary Anesthesia Society Student Anesthesia Award – Josie Sindorf
  • Equine Dentistry Award – Hannah Ludtke
  • Dueland Family Orthopedic Award – Kiley Brauer
  • American College of Veterinary Radiology Award – Angela Varela
  • American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology Award – Lisa Kim
  • Kaytee Avian & Special Species Excellence Award – Macy Peterson
  • Applied Animal Behavior Award – Maura Enright
  • School of Veterinary Medicine Oncology Award – Alyssa Sandblom
  • Veterinary Cancer Society Bob Rosenthal Senior Student Award – Rachel Crawford
  • American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists Award – Molly Kuhn
  • VECCS Award for Proficiency in Emergency & Critical Care – Rachel Hau
  • Eberhard Rosin General Surgery Award – Chad Colborn
  • American College of Veterinary Pathologists Award for Excellence in Veterinary Pathology – Keegan Lim
  • School of Veterinary Medicine Student Research Award – Lisa Kim
  • Dechra Excellence in Dermatology Award – Josie Sindorf
  • Dechra Excellence in Small Animal Internal Medicine Award – Alyssa Sandblom
  • Dechra Excellence in Equine Sports Medicine Award – Margaret Coakley
  • Zoetis Award for Research Excellence by a Graduate Student or Postdoc – Serena George
  • Zoetis Award for Research Excellence by an Intern or Resident – Dr. Faolain Barrett
  • Zoetis Awards for Research Excellence by a DVM Summer Scholar – Amanda Gimenez
  • William C. Campbell Excellence in Parasitology and Vector Biology Awards – Clair Henthorn and Katie Susong

Large and Small Animal Awards

  • American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care – Katie Tredinnick
  • American College of Veterinary Surgeons Foundation Student Surgical Proficiency Awards – Abby Rothering (Small Animal) and Savannah Coslett (Large Animal)
  • American Association of Feline Practitioners Award – Mykala Muench
  • GenOvations Proficiency in Bovine Theriogenology Award – Summer Henschel
  • Equine Podiatry Award – Madeline Gehin
  • Excellence in Equine Ambulatory Medicine Award – Madeline Gehin
  • Equitarian Award – Mackenzie Brost
  • Drs. John & Heidi Hallett Excellence in Veterinary Medicine Award – Meghan Hoel
  • Hill’s Pet Nutrition Excellence in Clinical Nutrition Award – Lia Spencer
  • Nestlé Purina PetCare Nutrition Award – Paulina Mohapp
  • Wisconsin Large Animal Emergency Response Award – Marty Anderson
  • Irongate Equine Award – Margaret Coakley
  • John G. Evans Memorial Award – Angela Varela
  • Rock Valley Veterinary Medical Association Clinical Proficiency Award – McKenna Larsh

Humanities Awards

  • Olson & Severson Student Enrichment Samaritan Awards – Meghan Hoel and Stacy Jaszewski
  • Memorial Pet Services Award – Nylah Stanley
  • Hannah Cole Remember and Honor the Bond Award – Rachel Illgen
  • Peter Bunn Award – Chad Colborn
  • Carolee Cutting Schueller Memorial Award – Alyssa Sandblom
  • Cathie Rauwald & Timothy Regan Memorial Award – Eagle Richter
  • Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association William J. O’Rourke Memorial Award – Summer Henschel
  • Josephine Walsh Compassion in Animal Care Award – Samuel Murray
  • Mark Brickman Equine Excellence Award – Savannah Coslett
  • Morrie Waud Equine Excellence Award – Sophia Grant-Counard
  • Morrie Waud Guardian Angel Award – Ramsey Peterson

View 2024 Celebration of Excellence program and award descriptions

« Back to News